London: National Maritime Museum & Gardens, Old Royal Naval College and Queen’s House

Calling all history buffs and lovers everywhere, these are the places you will want to see and experience!

Maybe, I am being a little bit dramatic and anyone can visit but seriously… art lovers too. If you are in Greenwich, it is so easy to spend the entire day visiting the places below as well as The Royal Observatory and Cutty Sark with a large green space to chill out on, as well.


National Maritime Museum & Gardens

The first thing on this list and I didn’t have time to go in! I really want to though, but I was pressed for time to do the other things in Greenwich but I will be back some day – It’s a history museum, try and keep me away! Haha.


Old Royal Naval College

I wasn’t really expecting to walk into a large hall and find the walls and ceilings covered head to toe in beautiful artwork which took my breath away. I lost track of time here exploring the details that surrounded me, leading me to the back of the room to more extradionary designs, almost transported to another time and place. My photos just don’t give the place justice, which the staff have created a beautiful ambience with fitting decorations of furniture and a welcoming atmosphere to explore and investigate.

Beyond this hall, there are other areas to explore, just walk around the outdoor areas and you’ll find signs inviting you into other areas (subject to opening times), as well as accessible toilets and cafes – Although, with such open spaces, why not eat outside and have a picnic?


Queen’s House

No photography allowed!

gw12Such a quaint place, that whilst small is filled with lots of knowledge, artifacts and history to wet the appetite that you don’t want to rush through it despite the small size. Tempting as it is, I forced myself to slow down and take in and read everything, enjoying the experience followed by the surprise that it had come to an end so soon.

If in the area, check it out along with the other amazing sights above.

 

Greenwich – Simply make a day of it to enjoy everything it has to offer!

One thought on “London: National Maritime Museum & Gardens, Old Royal Naval College and Queen’s House

Leave a Reply

