Budapest, Hungary: Gypsy Orchestra

Budapest Gypsy Symphony Orchestra is a Hungariansymphony orchestra of Romani (Gypsy) musicians. It emphasizes works by composers inspired by Hungarian folk music including Johannes Brahms, Vittorio Monti, Piotr Tchaïkovski, Johann Strauss and Johann Strauss II. The orchestra has been performing for 30 years as a classical symphony orchestra.

Extract from ‘Wikipedia’

On a bucket list but not my own – This was an unexpected treat from my travel companion before we descended on Budapest informing me that seeing the Budapest Gypsy Symphony Orchestra was on her bucket list and since she was in Budapest at the same time as one of their performances, she HAD to go. Naturally, it was on her bucket list. Unfamiliar with this type of music I said I would like to come too sans appropriate dress (Black and White tie – Tourists like ourselves were easy to spot due to this).

I wasn’t expecting anything and I was nothing like the bouncy up and down excitement that was my friend but I was blown away. Check out the video above to see and hear for yourselves – I heard this piece!

It was a magical evening which still leaves an impression on me many months later.

Leave a Reply

